Code to the Scriptures and Key to the City – Preface

by MJSmith

Preface of a Man

     SCIENCE AND HEALTH WITH KEY TO THE SCRIPTURES, which is Mary Baker Eddy’s Christian Science Textbook, is a Key, or code, to the Bible (the City of God).  However, she designates the pages beginning on page 499, and following, as being her Key to the Scriptures.  Following page 499 (page 500 is blank) are chapters fifteen, sixteen, seventeen, and eighteen.  This book is primarily about chapters fifteen and sixteen as they end the matrix structure of the whole Textbook.[1]  These two chapters fulfill the tones of Christianity as Science (15) and Science as Science (16).  Chapter fifteen is “Genesis” while chapter sixteen is “The Apocalypse.”
     In earlier editions her only key consisted of her “Glossary” which is actually chapter seventeen in today’s Textbook.  Mary Baker Eddy’s “Glossary” takes BIBLE words and names and defines them.  These BIBLE terms/names go in alphabetical order.  Most of them contain two types of definitions.  One is the mortal minded definition while the second is a spiritual translation with a much higher meaning to be understood by us, the readers.[2]
     The final chapter is titled “Fruitage” which consists (before the illegal five member Board of Directors changed it) of eighty-four testimonies that I feel form a matrix structure.  If you divide the number eighty-four by seven (seven synonymous terms for God equate to seven years) you wind up with twelve (months).  These twelve months for the seven years could represent the twelve different “manner [types] of fruit” found upon the tree of life (making up the three squared-cycle sections of the Word, the Christ, and Christianity for the divine calculus).  The leaves (pages of SCIENCE AND HEALTH) from the tree of life were meant for the healing of the nations.  Most people would say that the BIBLE is the tree of life.  I put forth that both books are the tree of life, just as the Kabalah tree of life has two pillars (really there are three pillars but the one in the middle is usually not depicted, or not seen, I now feel that this is because the middle column represents the reader of the books).  I also put forth that these two side pillars are the BIBLE and SCIENCE AND HEALTH WITH KEY TO THE SCRIPTURES.
     The testimonies within “Fruitage” are written testimonies.  These testimonies are accounts of spiritual healing that took place as a result of the reader only reading (eating) the Textbook.[3]  Mary Baker Eddy chose what testimonies went into this chapter herself.  She chose the order in which she placed them within the chapter, thus, I feel that she put them in the Seven Day’s order (of the Word) found in Genesis 1-2:3.  Hence, the first twelve testimonies would have to do with the tone of Mind, the second group with the tone of Spirit, the third group with the tone of Soul, the fourth with the tone of Principle, the fifth with the tone of Life, the sixth with the tone of Truth, and the seventh with the tone of Love.[4]
     Now you may ask, why did the Board of Directors change Mary Baker Eddy’s chapter?  I say that it was mainly because they wanted to prove that they could get by with it.  But this may not exactly be their true reasoning.  They said that they changed it because the removed healing that resulted in the reading of the Textbook was not a permanent healing, however, this does not explain why they moved around two other testimonies within the chapter.  To me this is a pretty weak reason, and I do not buy it.  It could be that they changed it do to their ignorance of what the chapter was really presenting to the reader, but I do not buy this either.  I feel that malicious animal magnetism, the serpent-red dragon of ecclesiastical despotism, was behind the changes made and it was done on purpose.  To me this means that the red dragon did not want anyone to really recognize the matrix structure found within the chapter, as it too, was a KEY to the structure of not only SCIENCE AND HEALTH, but also of the written BIBLE.  (These matrix structures have been written about by John W. Doorly and his students.)  On page 604 the testimony “Spinal Trouble and Indigestion Healed” replaced “Insanity and Epilepsy Healed” which has to do with Mind (one of the first twelve testimonies).  On page 698 “A Priceless Boon” was deleted and replaced with page 700’s “A Grateful Testimony” which was originally the very last testimony (in the tone of Love) and ended the chapter with very uplifting words.  Now the chapter ends with the testimony “Healed of Consumption and Asthma” which ends the book with slightly non-uplifting words.
     As I said before, my book is concentrating on “Genesis” and “The Apocalypse.”  This is because of the time period that we now live in.  Right now we are living in the seven thousand years period, known in the BIBLE as the Sabbath, the Seventh Day of Love (Genesis 2:1-3).[5]  A sixteen-year matrix period began at the beginning of the Seventh Day, which was on June 6, 1996.  The fifteenth-year period began on June 6, 2010 and goes until June 5, 2011.  The sixteenth-year period began on June 6, 2011 and ends on June 5, 2012.  This is the day that Venus, the woman God-crowned (of Revelation 12) made Her second transit (for the Seventh Day) across the sun (being clothed with the sun).[6]  This is God’s visible sign (symbol) that Womanhood, the Bride, is totally found within generic man’s consciousness.
     Do I have proof of this?  No, I only know what God has told me via spiritual vision dreams.  So, you may dismiss me right off the bat by believing that I am a crackpot and off my rocker, however, what have you got to loose by continuing in reading my book?  Perhaps if you continue on you may find out that you will have learned a little bit about God, man, and the universe!
     In 1994 the making of a movie took place.  Its title was Stargate.  This movie is about an open door where men (and women) can travel through a wormhole to a far off planet.  Oddly, the planet where our heroes traveled to was one of human bondage.  It was still under the ruling control of Ra, the sun god of ancient Egypt.  And they fought to free the slaves on Abydos from the ecclesiastic despotic control of Ra.
     A few years later the television series Stargate SG-1 began its ten-year run.  From it came Stargate Atlantis.  And finally came Stargate Universe.  In 2002 I did my first spiritual interpretation of the movie and SG-1.  I even gave a copy of it to Teryl Rothery, who plays Doctor Janet Frasier on Stargate SG-1.  I had ended it with my paraphrase I had written after seeing a poem that had been printed in a Christian Science Sentinel.  In April of 2003 my mother, to material belief, died.  I was asked to give her eulogy.  It was the hardest thing I ever had to write (so far), but the morning before the memorial service God reminded me of the paraphrased poem.  And I knew that I had to include it in the eulogy.  It is as follows:

     Betty stands upon Jacob’s Ladder, the Grand Gallery of the Pyramid Matrix of Truth, and there she sees God’s angelic messenger, the second witness looking into the Stargate, the Daystar’s passage of Love.
     She says to the man[7] who stands in the King’s Chamber, “Give me the light that I may tread safely in the shadow of death, in the land of human opinion.”
     And he replies, “Go out into darkness, the chaos of night, and know your mind is the Mind of God.  That shall be to you the light itself, and safe, as it is the Way.”

     One month after the memorial service I was watching the episode of Stargate SG-1 where Daniel Jackson dies and ascends.  This episode had been made in 2002, however, I had not seen it until May of 2003, nor had I heard anything about it, all I knew was that Daniel died.  When I saw the symbolism in the show, and the angel on the ramp leading to the Stargate, when I saw Daniel walk through the doorway to heaven, I remembered the eulogy!  I began to cry, not out of grief, but I cried out of gratitude to God!  God had shown me, once more, how His-Her Truth is constantly present and showing me The Way.

On page 499 of the Textbook we have the following:

Key to the Scriptures

These things saith He that is holy, He that is true, He that hath the key of David, He that openeth, and no man shutteth; and shutteth, and no man openeth; I know thy works:  behold, I have set before thee an open door, and no man can shut it. – Revelation.

     I think that this open door is the Stargate Matrix that God gave to me.

Postscript (April 17, 2017):  Since writing this post I have had the chance to make my own crown of Stargates, as I have met sixteen actors who have been in the TV show Stargate SG-1.  I write about this in a post written in 2015, after meeting my final three Stargate actors.

     The Key follows from this point on…


[1] The word “text” means – “to weave.”  A Glover is a weaver (Mary Baker’s first husband’s name was Glover) and her Textbook – is “a book used in the study of” Christian Science.  Her book is “one containing a presentation of the principles of” Christian Science.  And it is “a literary work relevant to the study of” Christian Science.  Mary Baker Glover Eddy’s book explains the BIBLE texts (“verses or passages of Scripture chosen especially for the subject of a sermon or for authoritative support [as for a doctrine]”).  (From Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary)

[2] Since originally writing this I have found out more about the matrix structure of the “Glossary” from Marybakereddy.rolf-witzsche.com.  I will not go into this, as I feel that Mr. Witzsche can explain it much better to you on his web sight.

[3] They were healed by reading the ‘little book open”.  They were not healed by material medicine or by Christian Science treatment from Christian Science Practitioners.

[4] The Seventh Day of Love is located in Genesis 2:1-3.  The Sixth Day of Truth is the Capstone Day for chapter one of Genesis.

[5] “One day with the Lord is as a thousand years.”

[6] Venus transited the sun on June 8, 2004.  This was between the writing of the book and the making of the movie – The De Vinci Code.  Spiritually interpreted Dan Brown’s story is about the second coming of Christ (the Womanhood of God as Mother) and the third coming of Christ (the man-child of God as the Bride).  The second coming of Christ has already taken place (during the Sixth Day of Truth) and the third advent of Christ is taking place today (the Seventh Day of Love).

[7] Just because I used the word “man” here does not mean I speak of a male, but rather the angel of Revelation 10 who is Mary Baker Eddy.  She reflected both masculine and feminine qualities.  The masculine angel is called Michael (Truth).

